Oh July

So the whole writing every day in July thing has failed miserably. But that's an ongoing problem I battle – setting the bar too high. Instead of beating myself up about it and quitting completely, I'm gonna keep trying to write things more often. Maybe just not daily. Plus I feel I can cut myself a little slack. I work full time and I've got two kids and our sleeping schedule has been off. Plus the poor puppy's been sick. But enough with the excuses.

So July. We're done with it now, aren't we? We've been busy, but not crazy busy. Like busy enough I'm not going crazy sitting still, but not too busy that we still get weekend naps.

I took the girls to the West Chester Touch a Truck two years ago. Ellabelle loved it and Mattie was too tiny to remember it. So when I saw it was happening on a Friday, Josh and I decided to take off a half day and take the girls. Well, it rained. 😕 So we came up with a backup plan. We took the girls to Dave and Busters instead. They had a ball even if they didn't totally grasp the games.

With the girls growing older, I know how important it is to give them each their own individual time alone with both Josh and me. I can always tell when Ellabelle feels like she's being neglected. She starts getting clingy and acting out. So, I planned a mommy bee date day. It wasn't anything super excited – just errands I had to run anyways. Buuttt if you tell her it's a special day and let her walk the whole time instead of riding in the cart, it as if you took her to see a unicorn.

We went to Target, Hobby Lobby, and Costco. I let her dance on shelves at hobby lobby. She got to look at all the toys at Target. She got to pick a special treat at Costco. She loved it, and I loved spending time with her. She's growing so much. She never stops talking, but she's also so smart. I'm very proud of the little person she continues to grow to be.

I had a horrible migraine for two days straight and ended up having to go to the doctor and get a shot to help with it. Because of that, we've spent a great deal of the beginning of July just hanging out.

I spent a lot of time working on finishing my wall project. I'm not 100% happy with it, but Josh assures me that it's perfectly fine looking.

The 4th arrived and, thankfully, this year it was warm and sunny. The girls loved the parade.

Afterwards, we went back to same place we went to last year and had the same horrible service. The girls and Josh napped back at Oma and Opa's. Mattie napped on me which was easily my favorite part of the day.

We stayed and watched the fireworks on tv, and it ruined our sleep schedule completely. That's what summer is about though, right? Staying up late and hanging with your favorite people.

On the 8th, Ellabelle got to do her first modeling photo shoot. It wasn't anything super glamorous, but she had a blast. It's for a little online boutique. The photographer was very impressed with her willingness to take pictures and not be shy which is what I was worried about. I can't wait to see how the pictures turned out.

Ellabelle has been so excited about it being July because she knows her birthday is this month. She also knows that there are two other birthdays first. She knows it has to be Auntie Ang's and then Mike's birthday. So when we hit Angie's, she flipped. "It's almost my birthday!"

So we went to dinner at The Cabana for Angie's birthday. The girls were so bad we almost didn't even go. Like they were that bad. Thankfully, they were well behaved during lunch.

We went to the park next to the cabana and had Angie's fruity pebble cheesecake for dessert. The girls played on the playground for a little bit.

Ellabelle pretended she was on American Ninja Warrior. And of course Mattie wanted to too.

When I found out I was having girl, the first thing I started dreaming about was soft pink and ballet slippers. It seemed like forever into the future, but here we are. Ellabelle started her summer ballet class, and I finally have a little ballerina to call my own.

She's just so pretty in pink.

Since this is just a summer class, it's only three weeks twice a week, but she'll start her really class in September which will last all year.

We ended up spending one of our Saturday mornings in Hamilton for Superhero Saturday. The girls were dressed as Batgirl and Wonder Woman. Wonder Woman didn't make it very far before she started shedding her pieces – her lasso, her crown, and her sandals ended up in the diaper bag before the end of the day.

The girls seemed to have fun. They got cotton candy.

We watched a few Christian wrestling matches that were part of the day. Mattie was very upset everything someone hit the mat. It was hilarious watching her watch wrestling.

That Sunday, it was national ice cream day, and graeters had ice cream on sale for $1.47. Before we made our way there, we took the girls to the water playground at Winton Woods. I was worried about Mattie since she seems to have such an aversion to water in any form, but she loved it. Neither wanted to leave.

After was ice cream time and they were even happier.

That week, I had to take Mattie to dance with Ellabelle and me, and that was a mess.

We got there fine and everything was ok until big sister went into the room and the door shut behind her with little sister left outside.

Thankfully I was able to distract her and keep her from crying the entire time. These two girls are monkey see monkey do in every aspect. If Mattie does something we think is funny, Ellabelle does it too. And of course Matilda wants to do everything Ellabelle does.

So, we reached Ellabelle's birthday weekend, and we started it off with both girls helping me make Ellabelle's birthday cake. Ellabelle cracked the eggs. Mattie added the butter and milk.

I ended up icing it without Ellabelle (even though she begged to help), but she forgave me once she saw it.

That Saturday was Ellabelle's birthday. She opened presents. I made pancakes. Then we headed out for a mommy and bee day. We got matching manicure and pedicures at a kids spa.

We got school supplies at target.

We went to Kenwood and hit the Disney Store, Lush, and Justice.

After that, we went to Mamaw and Papaw's house. The girls love playing with Trent and all the attention they get from their grandparents. Mamaw even made special cupcakes for the girls.

It was bathtime when we got home because of course they had to try out the new bubble bar Ellabelle got. Afterwards, Mattie helped my make the blueberry pie for Ellabelle and Opa's birthday breakfast the next day.

On Sunday, we went to the Original Pancake House. Ellabelle was a brat because we couldn't let her have all the syrup that her and Mattie had to share. We went to Oma and Opa's afterwards and opened presents. The birthday girl is definitely a spoiled little girl.

We had another pretty quiet week. Ellabelle finished her summer dance class. On Friday, we took the girls to their Mamaw and Papaw's for the night. We were supposed to go to Potterfest, but we ended up deciding against it since it was such a long drive. We hit the flea market instead on Saturday morning and took the girls to go see Spider-Man. It was Mattie's first movie. She loves Spider-Man so we thought it would keep her attention.

She lasted til the last 20 mins. Neither of the girls liked the fight scenes though. We had ice cream in the park at Liberty Center. Ellabelle threw a fit about wanting a cone, but they were so cute walking around together.

On Sunday, we went to Kentucky for some of Josh's side business. We stopped at Smale on the riverfront and let the girls enjoy the water before heading home.

Neither girl napped on Saturday so we thought for sure they'd pass out on Sunday at naptime. Ellabelle did not. 😒 So, we had a very cranky 5 year old on our hands Sunday evening.

And today is Monday. It's the last day of July. Tomorrow it'll be August and that means my baby will be starting kindergarten this month. Shes more than ready. I'm not so much. At least I have this little monster to call my baby for a little bit longer.

Leave a Reply

