My five year old

Baby Bee,

How it's been 5 years since you've made your entrance into the world is beyond me. I wonder how I ever lived without you in my life. The two feelings contradict each other yet it's the reality of being a mother.

Five.

It's a big year for you.

You're starting kindergarten. You'll finally get to ride "your" bus to school.

You're starting your first dance season. You'll get to be in your first recital. I know you'll love it since you still talk about the one we went and saw last December.

I'm looking forward to another festive season starting with pumpkin patches and Halloween which leads to Thanksgiving and the whole wonderful Christmas season. I can't wait to see you teaching your sister all about Santa.

You're growing into such a fascinating person. You definitely have your own opinions on pretty much everything, and you aren't afraid to share them.

You're so funny and so smart. You say these big words that always shock me when they come out. Like "competition" and "delicious". You say "oh my gosh!" with such emphasis that I crack up every time. You're gross like your daddy and think fart jokes are funny.

You're such a sweet big sister. You love to hold hands and give hugs to Matilda. You also like to try and boss her around, but she doesn't put up with that. Your relationship continues to blossom and grow in ways I could only have hoped for.

You're always running your mouth. You always have something to say or a direction to give. And you're also obsessed with directions. You know how to get places you've only been once. You yell at us if we go a different way than you're familiar with. It's insanely impressive.

You're strong willed and pigheaded. It gets you into a lot of trouble. However, you're also the gentlest soul. You get your feelings crushed very easily which I totally relate to. I hope I can help you learn to deal with your emotions better than I do. Being sensitive isn't a bad thing though. You're so tender with the animals and you want to say hi to every single bird, squirrel, dog, cat etc.

You love watching American Ninja Warrior and Big Brother. You are obsessed with snacks and candy. You hate bedtime because you don't want to miss anything. You can read a few books and can count to (at least) 100. You amaze every thing single day with how smart you are.

It is a privilege to be your mommy. We have been so lucky since day one, and I hope you know just how loved and cherished you are. You make me laugh and you make me mad, but at the end of the day you will always be my first real joy in the life. If I do nothing else right with my life, you and your sister will be testament enough that I excelled. I love you so much. I hope you had the best birthday.

Thanks for making a mommy. I love you.

Love forever and ever,
Mommy

Leave a Reply

