Jotting in July

So I’ve decided to challenge myself to write every day this month. I was just going to fly off the cuff and see where my writing takes me. Then I decided to look at Instagram for some prompt ideas and found a 30 day challenge and I was like “why not?” I’m aware that July has 31 days, but that 31st can be for something fun. 

Ok, Day 1 – Current relationship

Well, this one is pretty simple – Joshua. We’ve been married for 6 years (six?!!?) and we’ll have been together for 11 years in November. I realized the other day that it won’t be much longer till we’ve been together long let that I was alive without him which is honestly mind boggling. We’ve had so so many up and downs. We’ve grown and changed as time has gone on, but we work through things and it makes us stronger. He drives me crazy and makes me so mad, but I feel so lucky to have him. He handles my quirks and my OCD (as well as another person can). He talks me down when I start planning too big, but he lets me dream and soar. He’s my biggest fan and my #1 supporter. I don’t know what I’d do without him. I’m the luckiest girl even if he is a jerk sometimes. 

He’s not at all what I expected to end up with but that’s how love works. We’re proof that opposites attract. He’s got a big expressive personality. I prefer to hide in the shadows. He a big, joke making goofball. I’m generally pretty quiet. He loves scary movies and loud angry music. I love chick flicks and happy pop music. He’s a homebody who could sit in the house for days and be happy. I like to constantly have something to do. He’s laid back. I’m high strong. He goes with the flow, and I like lists and agendas. He forgets everything. I remember everything. We’re still learning to adjust to these things. The one thing we both have in common is that we’re stubborn so trying to live with someone so different is hard when neither of you want to budge on your stance. But today we cleaned and reorganized our bedroom and we didn’t fight at all! That’s the first time ever I think. We both strive every day to be the best parents and people we can and we love and respect each other. That’s really all I can ask for from him.

Oh and he bought me a puppy. That’s something every guy should do for his girl. He’s still living off those brownie points. 

Leave a Reply

