The middle toe

So, February. 😐 Personally, not a fan of the shortest month of the year. It’s always cold and gloomy. I hate the gray skies. I hate the unpredictable weather. I hate that the stupid groundhog always seems to see his shadow and says it’s going to be winter for 6 more weeks. I hate that I get angry at an innocent rodent once a year. February is the middle toe of the calendar. It’s a weird analogy. Trust me. I’m aware of how weird it it. But I was trying to come up with something to compare this month to and that’s all I got. A middle toe. Cause, honestly, it’s kinda useless. You wouldn’t really notice after a while if it was gone because the other toes do most of the work anyways. But, you’re still kinda glad it’s there cause it makes the foot complete. You appreciate the other toes more for supplying support and dexterity (or sunshiney warmth and good holidays) but it serves a purpose so you keep it. Maybe I could’ve gone with the appendix. That would’ve worked too. I’m gonna stick with this one though.

So, this middle toe of a month swept in a patch of very cold days. And then it got warm again and then it got cold again. The weather patterns this year are causing so much grief to my girl’s sinuses. They just can’t catch a break.

We went up to see Mamaw and Papaw because it had been so long since we had seen them. Christmas with them got pushed back due to Ellabelle’s stomach bug, and, on the make up date, I had surgery. So, we wanted to make sure the girls got some time to go see them. Poor Josh was sick though. He fell asleep on the floor while we were there, and the girls took to jumping up and down on top of him.

The superbowl was that weekend, and, while we weren’t really that interested in it, Ellabelle liked watching the two times “fight.” Mattie liked the shakes we got to enjoy during the game. (PS: Boo the Patriots won)

Little Mattie update (mostly because I used to do these for Ellabelle all the time):

Mattie loves her tea set, and whenever she remembers she has it, she insists we have tea with her.

She has become the sweetest, funniest, and sassiest little person. She’s all over the place all the time. She gets into everything. She throws things and whines about food and then eats it anyways. She loves comic books and dress up. She does this big exaggerated pout when she doesn’t get what she wants. She’s also attached to my hip which I love and hate all at the same time.


Miss Mattie wasn’t feeling well the beginning of the month. We don’t know if it was teething or just generally feeling bad, but she’d scream and wouldn’t fall asleep unless she was laying on someone. So poor daddy slept with her on the couch for a couple of nights. She had us all exhausted.

We got a huge burst of warm air (which are the best days in dreary February). So we took the girls to the playground. It was Mattie’s first time being able to walk at one, and she loved it. She was obsessed with the swings and screamed when it was time to leave. Ellabelle loves running around and scaring the crap out of me (a byproduct of the broken femur at 2). I try so hard not to make her aware that I’m nervous the entire time, and I try so hard not to hover. I totally do though, and I see parents watching and judging from a distance (as their 12 year olds knock over 4 year olds), but I don’t care. The leg break messed this momma up. Thank goodness, she doesn’t remember and has no problem trying to jump down ladders.

Maisy’s birthday is the 12th, and she got her annual party hat. She tried to destroy it as soon as I put it on her. Poor thing didn’t realize that both of my children were going to chase her around all day trying to put it back on her. She got special treats and lots of belly rubs because she’s such a good girl. She’s 9 so she’s an old lady now. She’s starting to act like one too. She goes and gets in bed before us. She growls more at things that didn’t use to bother. I swear when she barks at other dogs outside she’s yelling “Stay off my yard!”

Jericho had some tummy trouble that resulted in the need to throw away a blanket and a purse belonging to Ellabelle. He’s doing better now, but she was devastated to see her momma-made My Little Pony blanket go. So, I made her a new Tsum tsum blanket instead. She loves it very much and doesn’t like to share it (with her sister anyways).

Our friend, Amy, convinced me to go to one of the CRG open nights. I’ve had this ridiculous idea that I could be a rollergirl even though I have no idea how to skate. So, I went and bombed. Everyone was really nice, but I couldn’t even leave the wall. I fell flat on my back (on the carpet) and then tried again on a longer stretch of wall and fell belly first into said wall. This upset my still healing incisions from my gallbladder surgery. So, I was done. After only an hour. I sat and watched them practice and realized that even if I learned to skate (which I think I could totally do) I have no desire to actually do the things on wheels needed to participate in roller derby. So, I’m done. I not sad and I don’t feel like I quit or gave up, I just realized I’m a much better fan than skater.

Valentine’s Day finally arrived! I obviously love holidays. So I’ve been itching for one since Christmas ended. And while Valentine’s is pretty low on my list of favorite holidays, I will take any excuse for some sparkle and decorations in this god forsaken month. I carefully picked out each gift for my two tiny valentines, and momma did good. Ellabelle loves her singing Moana necklace and her Princess Peach. Mattie adores her piggy. They didn’t fully understand that the piece of paper with Moana on it means that they get the blu-ray when it’s finally released, but I know they’ll be excited about that as well.

Josh and I exchanged gifts early (cause we always do) and I got him his complete set of Green Lantern rings and Hulk tsum tsum (which the girls love as much as him). He got me a hot water maker for my desk at work and vinyl tsum tsums.

On Valentine’s Day, the girls had their little parties at school and the babysitters. Mattie loved making valentines and insisted on making 2. She was the only kid who did. Ellabelle decorated her mailbox and loved getting things from her friends.

We finally made it back to Costco once we got our tax return. We’ve missed visiting because Costco is the best. Free samples and movies on the tvs and giant churros – the girls think it’s the equivalent of Disney World. Mattie really loved the fact that Ellabelle got to ride in the grocery cart with her. She was cheesing the whole time, and they kept giving each other hugs. They are so sweet sometimes they could cause a cavity.

We also finally upgraded our bed. Besides the fact that it was definitely time to get a new mattress, we needed more room because these children of ours (plus three pets) aren’t getting any smaller and they like to hang out with us the morning.

Doesn’t leave a lot of room for me or Josh.

So, tada! All hail the king! It’s been amazing to be able to all fit. The poor animals have no idea what’s going on or where to sleep, but us humans approve.

Ellabelle had to go back to have another allergy test done. She’s still allergic to all tree nuts (thankfully, not peanuts). They did a blood test on her too. Oma took her so we didn’t have to take time off work, and she said she did amazing. The girls spent the night at Oma and Opa’s so Josh and I could go to parent’s night at Ellabelle’s kindergarten. I can’t believe she’s starting school in the fall. It’s crazy. She was just born. I’m not ready! Anyways, we got to see her gym and classrooms and library and cafeteria, and I know she’s going to love it. There’s also one of the big Cincinnati pigs who “lives” there and she’s excited to meet him too. Lol

One of the cops in Josh’s office brought in Fiona cookies. She’s a premie hippo at the zoo that the internet has fallen in love with and Buskens is making special cookies for her. They are impossible to get and I got one! I love Buskens, and I love baby hippos so it totally made my day.

That night we went and got the girls from Releaf. It was Cathy’s 60th birthday. The girls had a fun running around, but there was a big storm coming in so we skipped out early. Mattie hadn’t napped either so she was a mess.

We spend the last weekend of the month at home. I dyed my hair (multiple times) and we cleaned some. We did go out to Jungle Jim’s on Sunday night. Mattie is obsessed with dress up clothes. So she grabbed her Belle dress while we were getting ready to leave. Ellabelle decided she just had to wear hers too. So, our little princesses set off with us. They love Jungle Jim’s because they get cookies and can dance along with the cereal band in the produce section.

February is closing on a wet and cold day. I’ll be happy when it’s sunny again. And warm. And I can get my girls outside every weekend. This middle toe needs some sunshine! Bring on March!

 

Leave a Reply

