Big Rocks

Life never turns out like you expect to it. If it did, I’d have gotten married at 19 to Justin Timberlake and we’d be expecting baby #5 of 8. Thankfully, that’s not how life worked out. It really works out in the exact opposite way plus some corkscrews and double loops and you end up where you never expected. I’m almost 29 (😱) with a great husband and two little girls and a job I’ll be at til I’m in my 60s. I never thought I’d be here. I had hoped I would be. I had wanted marriage and kids. I always worried I wouldn’t find the right person. I feel like I blinked and it’s all here in front of me. My heart is so full and so happy to have everything I ever dreamed of. I sometimes forget that they are what matters. I get caught up in money and possessions and social media. But they are what matters. They are my everything. Everything else is pebbles. (In case you’ve been under a rock and haven’t heard this story: http://www.appleseeds.org/big-rocks_covey.htm for reference) it’s easy to caught up on the pebbles. Today I’ll try to remember to focus on my big rocks. 

Leave a Reply

