Of busy bees and moving on from 27

Bees are notorious for being busy. They do actually have a type of bee sleep that happens occasionally. They just kinda stop moving, and their body cools down and then they get back to work. It’s very impressive that they take time to slightly slumber considering a beehive itself is busy 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. And that was us this weekend. For the past few days, we’ve buzz buzz buzzed around doing things and stopped moving briefly to cool down in between.
Friday Josh took off of work so we could paint our porch. We had Auntie Ang and Oma and Opa watch the Trouble Twins so we could just get it done. After we dropped them off and got back home, we got to work. Let us remember, that we started to paintthe porch the same color is already was a few weeks ago. Well, the property manager didn’t like that and told us that our blue-for-the-past-4-years porch HAD to be white. So we had to start from scratch. It was a beast of a project that I totally underestimated. We had to paint the front porch, the railing, the lattice, the side of the back porch, the back stairs, and the shed. Then our property manager decided to throw us a curveball and decided our shutters had to be painted too. ((insert angry growl here))
 –
Well we got the front porch and railing and lattice and back steps done before we ran out of paint. We were also hot and sweaty and out of time. So we had to call it a day (our not used to manual labor backs were grateful).
Before
Before
After
After
 –
Saturday was probably our busiest day. It started with a beautiful morning for family pictures at Ault Park. Ellabelle actually behaved (much to our surprise), and Mattie didn’t (any even bigger surprise.) I think we got some amazing shots through and can’t wait to see the finished products. IMG_8417
After pictures, we made a quick stop to Kenwood Mall, then we headed home because it was time to get ready for Oktoberfest! I, of course, made Mattie a special little German girl outfit, and Ellabelle wore her shirt we bought her last year and daddy’s chicken (“kicken”) hat. IMG_8421IMG_8423
We love Oktoberfest because it’s an excuse to sit around and eat amazing food and drink (in Josh’s case). He had three beers, and he was gone. He’s become such a lightweight. We ate sauerkraut balls and hot metts and I got half a famous Oktoberfest chicken. IMG_8432
It looks absolutely disgusting (like a hairless car laying in a styrofoam to go box) was so good and totally worth the grease stains on my shirt. I have to say though, there’s no ladylike or polite way to eat half a chicken. Oh and creme puffs! Those followed dinner, and they are probably the best part of the whole event. (No picture because we ate them too fat because we’re fat kids) We usually go to the fest on Friday night, but we went on Saturday afternoon this year so sadly we missed the chicken dance. We also missed the polka player, and I even taught Ellabelle to yell, “Oy! Oy! Oy!” after they say, “Ziggy zoggy! Ziggy zoggy!” Oh well. It’s a good skill to have.
Sunday we had to finish work on the house. Josh went and bought wood to replace on our shed. He had to attach it while I painted the front steps to match the porch. IMG_8491
Then I painted two sides of the shed and part of the shudders. Ellabelle was a huge help ((sarcasm)) with her bubbles, and Mattie was a huge help with insisting on being held. IMG_8488IMG_8486
He finished the rest on his own because I had to take my little soccer star to practice. It was so hot, but she did much better at participating. IMG_8507
She didn’t try and sleep in the goal, and she interacted with the other kids. There was only one time she wondered off the field because she was hot and tired. She was reluctant to play the games they do to teach basic soccer skills but I managed to convince her to at least try. She only wants to play soccer. She’s always so over the busywork (just like me). So when the last 5 minutes come, she’s ecstatic because it’s a scrimmage. She ran around like a nut, laughing her head off, and kicked the ball twice! IMG_8509
She’s improved so much between the first and second week. It’s amazing to me. We stopped and got ice cream on the way home. She picked superman and proudly told daddy when she showed him. Josh still wasn’t done with all the work when we got home, and I had to help him get the shutters back on the house.
We ended the weekend hot and exhausted. We had a pretty calm Monday. It was nice little break before my birthday festivities started. Tuesday we went out to dinner to Logan’s with Oma, Opa, and Auntie Ang. Ellabelle was awful at dinner – jumping over Angie and refusing to eat and the making a scene because she had an audience. We had whippy cupcakes afterward, and I got some very nice presents.
IMG_8731
Wednesday was my birthday, we went over and went swimming with Oma. Ellabelle was so excited to be there with Oma. IMG_8696 Much to my surprise, my little hates-the-bath baby didn’t cry at all when I put her in the water. She even smiled a few times. IMG_8701
Once Josh got off work, we went out to dinner and went to Target. The girls got me a necklace and a bracelet. IMG_8559
My gift from Josh isn’t here yet. I did get a lovely note and blank check to cash in for a proper birthday from Josh.
So like I said, buzzing bees around here. It’s been so busy I’ve hardly had to time to really let the whole turning 28 thing set in. Normally, I have a moment to sit back and wonder how I’ve made it this far when I feel like I was just turning 24. My brain seems stuck at 24. For some reason, that’s the age I always seem to immediately think I am. This year my little sister passed that age so who knows when my brain is ever gonna jump forward.
27 has come and gone for me. It was an interesting year to say the least. Not long after turning 27, I found out that we were going to be going from a family of 3 to a family of 4. Of course, Ellabelle had broken her leg only 9 days after my birthday and those 6 weeks that followed were some of the worse in my life. My pregnancy was very hard on me (yet again). I ended up in the ER three times before the end of 2014. (A fourth time would follow before she was actually born). I was having trouble breathing, and no one could figure out why and they couldn’t give me a chest xray. So, due to all the complications and doctors visits, I missed too much work and since the county does a 300 day probation, I lost my job. It was a really tough thing for me. I don’t like to lose or fail at things, and it felt like I had failed somehow. I was also really upset because I felt like it was all out of my control. I still don’t like to talk about it because I had honestly thought I had found my big girl job and was done. Yet, here I am. 28 now and still no where closer to being on a career path. I feel like I’ve let Josh down and my kids down and myself down in the job department this year. But, trying to see the positives, which is what I try to do now as much as possible, I’m a stay at home mom again, and I get to spend so much extra time with my awesome (depending on the time of day) kids. IMG_8576
Besides losing my job, 27 was pretty quiet for the first half. May was a big deal for us because we added this little cupcake to our family. IMG_8598 Having her here is amazing and wonderful. She’s just the sweetest little thing who’s so happy 90% of the time. (The other 10% is when she’s hungry or tired). She’s just made out family complete, and her big sister adores her. I cannot believe I’m the mother to two beautiful little girls. IMG_7778
We had a tough time when we brought Mattie home because she lost a lot of weight in her first week. So the doctor told us we had to get her to eat her full 2oz every two hours. So that meant we had to be up EVERY. TWO. HOURS. Just thinking back on it makes me exhausted. She also wasn’t very interested in eating all of her formula. So, there we were, one of us gently pinching and blowing air and tickling and taking off her jammies to try and get her awake. Thankfully, she’s a big piglet now and caught up on weight within the 1st month.
Other than adjusting to two kids since May our lives have fallen into a normal routine. My 27th year has kinda leveled out here at the end, and that’s ok. You don’t want big changes when your still learning to keep all your balls in the air. I mean, I’m still looking for work, but other than that waters have been very calm. 28 is going to be an exciting year because we have a lot of firsts to encounter again with Mattie, and Ellabelle is becoming more and more aware of things so I think Christmas is going to be AHmazing this year. So, I happily just continue on into 28. It’s gonna be a fun year. I can just tell. IMG_8622
Leave a Reply

