Mattie’s Birth Story

May 19, 2015

We had a surprisingly calm morning before we headed to the hospital. Ellabelle and Maisy were already at my parents, and the cats were watered and fed.  IMG_3693_2

We arrived and parked and made our way into the hospital. They checked me in and sent me back to triage. Josh had to wait til I was changed to come back. They hooked me up to an IV and started tracking the baby.  Much to my surprise, I was having contractions. The nurses were surprised that I couldn’t feel them. We had to wait two hours while I got antibiotics and whatever other stuff that comes down through an IV before a csection. They had another csection scheduled before mine so the nurses came and went. Most of the time it was just Josh and me waiting and reading. They had him put on scrubs which I thought he looked mighty nice in.

Finally, they came and got me. I had to walk down the hallway to the operating room. It was big and bright and cold. I got up on the table and they had me sit hunched over a pillow so that they could do the spinal. That was honestly the worst part. I got three little pricks of local anesthetic and then he tried to administer the meds. However, I kept getting really bad pains in both of my legs. Finally, with some coaching from my doctor, I was relaxed enough that he got it in. It took another two pricks of anesthetic before that happened though. IMG_3705_2 Then I had to lay down and they put me on oxygen through the nose tube they use. They drapped me and I could feel them drawing on me. Finally, Josh got to join the party. He sat at my head. I was shocked at how quickly the medicine numbed me. Above me was a huge light, and, lucky me, I could see everything in the reflection.

They started working on opening my original incision, and the smell of the my flesh being open was, to quote Josh, “Literally the worse smell I’ve ever smelled!” He said he wanted to throw up. At 1:22pm, she was out and screaming (unlike her sister). IMG_3709 They told me what a perfect round head she had and took her to be cleaned off. Josh asked for permission to leave me and go see her which I told him to do. He took pictures and video while they worked on closing me up. My doctor told me everything inside of me looked great and healthy and that I should consider having more beautiful babies. It was uncomfortable while the doctors worked. I couldn’t exactly feel anything. I just knew I didn’t like it and wanted them to hurry up and get done.

Josh came back over and told me she was beautiful, and she had peed all over the nurses. Josh then proceeded to dance in the operating room. He left me again, and I tried to avoid looking up and seeing what they were doing. However, it was hard not to, and the only thing I remember vividly seeing was blood pouring out and the doctors sucking it up.

When Josh finally came back to me again, he let me know that they were worried because she had an irregular heartbeat. A pediatrician was coming to check her out. The ped told us that it wasn’t abnormal for it to happen with newborns, and he’d come back and check her the next day. While he was there checking on her, she managed to get his finger in her mouth (not sure if he offered or she took). It was the first indication of her love of the pacifier. IMG_3721_2

They finished cleaning her off, and Josh was finally able to come and sit and show me the little girl I had been waiting 9 months to meet. She was beautiful, and all I could think was she looked so much like her big sister. Josh handed her to me after they finished and moved me to my bed. From there, we were wheeled back to triage. I stuck my finger in her mouth because she was crying, and she calmed down. IMG_3729_2 The nurse asked if I though she was hungry and, based on the way she was trying to inhale my finger, I gave a confident, “Yes.” She ate her first bottle like a champ. IMG_3735_2 Josh held her for a bit before giving her back to me so we could be taken to our room. IMG_3736_2

After that it was all kind of a blur. We were wheeled to our room, and Josh began calling people. Oma and Opa got there first with the new big sister! I don’t think Ellabelle understood exactly what was going on. Oma helped introduce the two, IMG_3749 and Ellabelle gave Mattie the porcupine toy she picked out for her new sister. IMG_3759 The nurse came in and gave Mattie a bath, and she had Ellabelle scrub her head with the bar of soap. More people arrived, and Mattie got to meet her Papaw, Mamaw, and Trent, her Auntie Ang, grandma Viv, and Cathy who works at the same hospital. Tuesday night was pretty peaceful. We got some decent enough sleep. 

Wednesday was very quiet. I had to move around the room and try and get used to having legs again. We had no visitors, and just enjoyed the day with our Mattie girl. IMG_3816 The pediatrician came in and checked on Matilda’s heart sounds and said that she sounded just fine and gave her a clean bill of health. Josh had to go home for more clothes in the evening because I had stolen his tshirts. Mattie also had her routine tests and shot that day.

Thursday was an important day for us – May 21, 2015. Josh and I celebrated our 4 year wedding anniversary, and we got to take home our second baby. We were both discharged. IMG_3913 It took a while to get all the paper work signed off on, and we got her hospital pictures taken while we waited. 11289451_10100930637851590_241425357349601735_o Finally, after waiting patiently, they were ready to wheel us down to the lobby to go. IMG_3925 It was a much different experience than at Christ. They didn’t have to check that we had Mattie in her carseat correctly. They didn’t require me to hold her on my lap on the way down (I did anyways). It was just way more relaxed. We luckily got Mattie in the car with no carseat troubles (unlike her sister). We came home to a nice quiet house, and we slept as much as possible before Ellabelle came home the next day. IMG_3930

Leave a Reply

