In the Kitchen: Cheesecake and Chicken Wings sorta

So, my kitchen is always a disaster area. It’s the one place we can’t seem to keep up on in our house. The biggest problem with keeping it nice and picturesque is that I like to cook. Like all the time. For no reason. Oh, and I stress bake. Like some people drink or smoke, only there’s a cake waiting to be eaten once I’m done. So, I thought I could share some of my yummy finds here.

This weekend we had two “snackworthy” events – the triumphant return and glorious start of the 12th doctor on Doctor Who and our fantasy football draft. So, I wanted to make things we could munch on while we battled aliens as well as were able to eat without interfering with our mouse clicking. So, I made three different things (because I love new recipes).

1. No Bake Raspberry Cheesecake Bites

Can you say – oh mah gawd? EB latches on to me as soon as she sees me pull one out of the freezer. Maisy loves them because my crazy dog is obsessed with cream cheese. So, these two all over me demanding I share. And, Josh, well, he doesn’t like raspberries. But he likes these.

I love cheesecake and I love no bake recipes so I was sold as soon as I found it. The recipe is below on the original website I used, and, to the woman who created this recipe, I thank you. The only thing I did that was different from her instructions was that I used an ice cream scoop to get the frozen mix out of the bowl and into ball shapes. They came out much prettier that way.

I love that they’re small and easy to grab. You can eat one and get your cheesecake fill without feeling like a total fat kid. You can also make them various sizes too. I made some smaller ones for EB because I knew she’s make a mess with a bigger one.

http://thissillygirlslife.com/2014/04/no-bake-raspberry-cheesecake-bites/
http://thissillygirlslife.com/2014/04/no-bake-raspberry-cheesecake-bites/

2. Buffalo Chicken Dip

I love dips. If you can put it on a chip, bagel piece, pretzel, or graham cracker, I’m sold. And I love chicken wings. But chicken wings take forever to make, and they get messy. Enter the wing dip!

Josh doesn’t eat chicken on the bone anyways. So this was really perfect for us.

Here’s the recipe: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/buffalo-chicken-dip/

I did half of what the recipe calls for for just the two of us and it was enough for both of us to take leftovers for lunch the next day. I didn’t slow cook ours after it was all mixed. I popped it into a 350 degree oven until was all bubbly and delicious. The sauce I used (and love) is Frank’s Red Hot Buffalo Wings Sauce. It taste more chicken wingy to me than the plain Red Hot. There are a lot of recipes for this dip out there, but I’ve found I like this one best because of the portions of the ingredients. I also don’t like blue cheese and a lot of recipes call for that instead of the ranch. We eat ours on tortilla chips, but crackers work just as well.

3. Reese Puffs

So, I was on pintrest (as I tend to be) and realized that, basically, if you can stuff it into a crescent roll, somewhere, someone has. And I saw snickers wrapped and baked inside of them, and I decided to try it with Reese cups.

All I did was put the Reese cups in the fridge to get cold first. Cut them each in half and then wrap a half up in the crescent dough. I baked according the packaging and sprinkled with powder sugar when done.

Reese cups are Josh’s favorite so he was pretty happy with them. photo 1 photo 2

I’m currently noshing on my buffalo chicken dip. So, I’m gonna get back to that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

