Learning

Ellabelle hasn’t crawled yet. She has no interest. She gets up on her hands and knees and rocks when she gets really tired, but that’s it.

image

I grow impatient with her about it. I get told over and over to just be happy that I get to spend a while longer without a toddler destroying everything she touches. I’m not known for my patience though.

I honestly think she has the ability to do it. She just doesn’t want to. She’d rather roll to get wherever she wants to go. She takes the easy way.

Having a kid is a true test of patience. She’s going to do everything at her own pace, and, being my mini-me, she’s going to refuse to be pushed to do something. It’s hard for me, the control freak, to just let her be, to do her own thing, but I’m learning.

I can put her on the floor, but I can’t make her crawl.

I can ask her to pattycake, but I can’t make her clap.

I can stand her up, but I can’t make her walk.

I can ask her to talk, but I can’t make her say “mama” (which she hasn’t yet!)

I know one of these days she’s just going to take off and never look back, and I’m learning to just let it be, to stop worrying about it.

image

She has so much she has to learn. Every day is a new discovery for her. She gets to learn shapes and colors and letters and numbers, and I get to teach her. She is a fresh sponge to the world, but she’s also a teacher. She’s teaching me how to be more patient. I have a lot of work ahead of me in this department, but we’ll figure it all out together. Maybe she’s making sure I know how to have patience before she starts being mobile, cause, once she gets going, she’s gonna keep me on my toes, this one.

image

I’m going to have to have patience with my lil monster running around!

Leave a Reply

