1 year ago

May 21, 2011 – I remember having to drag myself out of bed so that I could shower. I always hate seeing 8am on a Saturday. I showered and dressed carefully, making sure that the top I put on was a button down. I drove alone, more likely than not with the music up, to Mitchell’s. I waited as patiently as possible trying to figure out which girl would be the one working with me. I had some ideas to give her once she came out, but I let her have free range. After about an hour, I was back in the car, heading home, to try and keep myself busy for a short while.

Finally, I headed out to the corner of Galbraith and Cheviot. There were already a lot of people already there. I headed straight in more focused on getting everything that needed to be done.

The rest of the day was kinda a blur. I got dressed. 

I sent Angie to hand out flowers. I called Josh to make sure everyone was ready.

I waited impatiently to head out to get pictures taken. 

I remember being so nervous seeing the back of Josh as I made my way to him outside. And then he turned. We acted like two 6th graders, all shy and awkward with one another- him beaming, me pulling on his vest. 

Finally, someone from the wedding party yelled, “Kiss her!” So we did. And the tension broke. 

We had many more pictures to take. 

I remember running back in so people wouldn’t see me before the ceremony. Finally we all lined up. I remember that I couldn’t stop smiling as I made my way down the aisle. I couldn’t stop smiling the entire ceremony. I kept almost giggling. Josh seemed to think something was wrong with me. 

We were finally made man and wife, kissed, and shared a special “busha baby” moment.

We made our way out so excited that the “business” part of the day was taken care of and the party could begin. 

I remember the anticipation as we stood behind closed doors for our entrance.

I remember the toasts and so many different faces as we made our way around.  

I remember running outside to do pictures right before dinner. 

I remember eating hardly anything. I remember smushing the cake in Josh’s face and running away. 

I remember our first dance. 

I remember the father daughter dance. 

I remember tossing the bouquet, and Josh removing the garter. 

I remember dancing all night, forgetting to drink anything until Josh shoved a glass of water in my hand. 

The overall memory of the night was just a blur. Sometimes I wish I could go back and watch as a bystander and take it all in. It was an amazing, sparkling memory that I’ll cherish forever. 

I married my best friend that day, and this past year has been amazing. We moved into our first home. We found out we were expecting our first baby. Josh found a “big boy” job with city. We’re finally starting to get on our feet. 

They say that the first year of marriage is the hardest. If this is as hard as it gets, I’m very much looking forward to the next +40 years. 

I love you, Josh. Muchisimo.
Thanks for a wonderful year =) 

Leave a Reply

