Just realized

I realized some things today. Nothing too life changing, but finding little things out about myself keeps things interesting.

Like the fact that I canNOT stand “light” yogurt. Give this girl the full fat stuff. It’s just so yummy the way it is. I’ve even switched back to 2% milk since I’m pregnant. Skim will be in the fridge once this little bambina pops out, but til then, give me my fat!

I also realized that while I don’t like baseball, I love Cincinnati. This city is obsessed with it’s baseball team. It’s obsessed with Opening Day. So much so, many people around here think it should be a citywide holiday. (Yeah, never gonna happen). This place bleeds red (which is really a stupid saying considering we ALL bleed red) and has Reds fever for the summer months. And then there’s me, and I hate baseball. It’s boring. Nobody hits anybody. The peanuts are fun for like 10 minutes, but then the shells you throw on the ground end up in your flip flops and stuck to your feet. That point aside, I love this city. I root for this city. I will cheer on the Red because they represent me because Cincinnati’s a part of who I am. I love this cities insanity for a sport I do not understand. I love the eclectic group of people who gathered together yesterday to celebrate this great city and the team the represents it. (Only 151 days til footballs back!)  Set up for our Opening Day lunch

Lunch – complete with red color changing GTC cup

Also, I now know that I apparently cannot control myself when it comes to sweets. I have a glucose test coming up at the end of the month to check for gestational diabetes. I told myself two days ago, “I’m going to watch my sugar intake, drink lots of water, and be ready for this test so I don’t have to worry about GD on top of everything else baby related.” Yeah, that lasted all of those two days. Without even realizing it, I had a “share” size bag of skittle (riddle flavors where the colors don’t match the color) and a can of coke for breakfast yesterday. I had a coke and cherry poptarts today. The vending machine NEVER has cherry poptarts (so I had to buy them, of course), and the pop machine gave me two cokes for the price of one. Apparently, the universe wants me to eat my sugar. Either way, I officially fail. 

Oh, and have you ever looked at the back of the poptart wrap with the microwave directions? It says to cook in the microwave for 3 seconds. Really? Well, I’ll have you know that I cook mine for a whole 25 seconds. Watch out! 

I realized that the old cliché in the movies is true: you can fall in love with the same person over and over again. I fall in love with Josh daily. I think to myself often, “What would I do without him?” He sings and dances and does anything he can to put a smile on my face. He makes me happy – “you have done it without a touch, without a word, without a sign. You have done it by being yourself.” – “Love” by Roy Croft (read at our wedding)

Yep, I love him ❤

I realized that I must drive Josh nuts when he’s off work. I’m constantly asking where Maisy is, what’s he doing, and, the worse of all, can he send me a picture of the dog. And he does. I’d hate to be him sometimes, lol. It’s just not fair that he gets to be home with her and all her cuteness while I’m stuck at work. I need more puppy cuteness in my life. And just wait til he’s home with the baby…These are just from today

I just realized that today is Good Friday. There’s that little part of me, way deep down, that is still brainwashed by the Catholic teachings I had for 12 years (and one semester of college) that’s yelling at me for being bad and not remembering. I mean, I knew Sunday was Easter, but Good Friday? Totally slipped my mind. Lent’s almost over which means I can stop pretending I’m going to start giving something up. Maybe I’ll just say I gave up giving something up for Lent. That’ll work. And now, I’ve got the Lord of the Dance song in my head. It pops in every Good Friday. Oh, the memories you can pull out at the most random of times.

I danced on a Friday when the sky turned black
It’s hard to dance with the devil on your back
They buried my body & they thought I’d gone
But I am the Dance & I still go on!

Dance then, wherever you may be
I am the Lord of the Dance, said He!
And I’ll lead you all, wherever you may be
And I’ll lead you all in the Dance, said He!

*****

Alright, enough with the realizations. I have discovered and shared enough for one day. I am looking forward to lazy weekend of nothingness. No where to go. Nothing to do. Just sleeping in. Eating when we want. Watching Skinny Steve (aka CaptainAmerica) on Saturday. It promises to be a good weekend, even if the easter bunny doesn’t stop by anymore.

xo, amy

Leave a Reply

