Week 17

 

How far along? 17 weeks

Total weight gain/lost: haven’t weighed myself

Maternity clothes? Not yet

Stretch marks? Every where with more and more every day. I really need to invest in some cocoa butter.

Best moment of the week: Fish Fry and Spaghetti dinner

Missing anything? Subway

Movement? Maybe, not sure

Cravings:Mt.Dew

Anything making you queasy or sick? Nothing particular

Have you started to show? Not much

Gender? Still a ?

Labor signs? Braxton hicks, but that’s it and they only last about an hour

Belly button in or out? in

Wedding ring on or off? On, when I remember

Mood: much happier than previous weeks

Looking forward to: finding out the gender

 

Written 2/24 at 17w6d:

So, this morning started like any other morning: I rolled out of bed, leaving behind my beloved Boppy pillow, at about 6:20. I put in my contacts, brushed my teeth, dry shampooed my hair, and dressed. Let the hubby pick out my top which is always entertaining. He pulled out my pink thermal hoodie, and, so, I directed him to find the pink top that was a size large that hadn’t been packed away. See, he’s been on a cleaning kick and washed every single piece of our wardrobes, dirty or not. Then, he had me pack away all my medium tshirts and work tops because, lets face it, I’m only going to keep getting bigger. So, I figured he’d remember the one work shirt that got saved from the green tubs of doom. He couldn’t find it though.

 

I yelled, “It’s got gray stripes!” as I put my hair in a ponytail. “Ohhh,” I couldn’t help but roll my eyes at his sound of understanding. I was out the door by 6:35 and had 4 minutes to spare once I clocked in to work.

 

Something was different this morning though. As I sat in my office, I felt…weird. I realized what it was after a few moments contemplating. I felt happy and excited. That feeling has been so foreign to me, especially within the walls of work. This pregnancy has been tough on me and my body thus far. I guess I had forgotten how it felt to just feel happy.

 

Fast forward to today, 2/28. Normally, this is the last day of the month. However, it’s a leap year. Everyone always seems so excited about that extra day. It’s a free day to do whatever you want, to do something special. To me it’s just an extra day between me and my bacon bit. Plus, not to be a debbie-downer, it’s not a “free” day. It’s the accumulation of the quarter days that are part of our solar calendar. Plus, I have to work so it’s nothing special. Days I get to sleep in – those are special.

 

Lately, I’ve been worrying more and more about how life is about to change because, let’s face it, it’s about to change. Josh keeps promising me things are going to still be as happy and amazing as they are now. It’ll just take a little getting used to. This usually calms me down enough that I forget about it and worry about something else for a while. Cause that’s what I do. I worry. Hopefully, the bacon bit will get its daddy predisposition on life, very “c’est la vie.”

 

Had a good weekend – 1st Fish Fry of the year, Spaghetti Dinner – and then Monday happened. I had the mother of all migraines. Josh put blankets over the windows to keep the sun out. I slept all day. Wore sunglasses around the house cause we have more windows than blankets. Good news is that today, Tuesday, it’s still here. So, I plea: go away, headache!

 

Other than that, no baby news or any other news for the matter. Doctor’s appointment is on Thursday. We’ll get to schedule the gender reveal ultrasound then =)

 

Leave a Reply

